It’s better to love a short girl than not a tall

“Mommy, I not love you.”

Dear Mini-ion #2,
Those have been your favorite words of late.  Or so it seems. You even woke me up the other morning,  seemingly just to tell me that.

I wonder if you don’t know what love means,  to so quickly give and then take it away.

I think the love from a parent to child means that you don’t react as if those words hurt,  even when it does. That even when those words are said,  while seeking comfort and warmth,  comfort and warmth is still provided.

Even though I tried to explain to you that may not like me,  which is ok,  but that you’ll always love me.  You insisted no.

We must be going through another rite of passage; first the haircut, now the love removal.  All before age 3, lucky us!

My little angel, know that no matter how many times you tell me that you “not love” me, those words will never stop my love for you.  Every time you tell me that, I’ll put on my big girl pants, look into your eyes and try to find the deeper reason for those words.  Sometimes it will be because you are unhappy with a limit I’m setting.  Sometimes it will be because you are missing a connection with me.  And sometimes, because you are just grumpy.

That’s ok.  We’re all grumpy sometimes.

At some point you’ll know the power behind those words and take responsibility for their use.  Until then, I’ll try to demonstrate what love is, to you, your brother and your father.  So you’ll truly know to tell someone that you love them, it is indeed meaningful.

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s better to love a short girl than not a tall

  1. April says:

    Aww, now I know that she is only three but those words must hurt! My children never really tell us they love us even though we tell them a thousand times a day, but I try to not let it bother me. I just kiss them, hold them and move on. One day they will say the words but until then, their actions speak louder than words anyways.

  2. aviets says:

    This is one of those inevitables of parenthood that everyone ends up hearing, but it always takes you by surprise. You handled it with great wisdom. Well done. 🙂

  3. Jan Davidson says:

    Yes sweetie, it hurts. to have your baby look at you and tell you she doesn’t love you. Does a 2 year old understand the feeling of love, or that she can love so many from mommy to pop-pop. She hears it alot, but what does it really mean or is it just something to parrot back that makes people smile. Remember, they’re always testing, especially with words. Does this word get a reaction, or how about that one. Makes me wonder where she heard it because I know she didn’t come up with it herself. Take heart, some day she’ll realize her total devotion to you is love.
    I Love You Too,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

