I discovered that existence is no more than a never-ending circle in a roundabout kind of way

I found myself in an enviable position the other morning.

In the early morning hours, Mini-ion #1 had a problem, we solved, and he crawled into bed with me.  Sometime closer to the sun rising, Mini-ion #2 came in because she didn’t want to sleep alone anymore and crawled into bed on the other side of me.

Dear Husband had left for work already so the three of us had the bed to ourselves.

I sat there listening to their deep breathing and considered.  I considered how lucky I felt to have these two cuddly bags of warmth on either side of me.  I felt grateful that their ultimate place of peace and comfort is laying next to me.

I considered how lucky I was to be able to stay home and enjoy these moments with them.  That Dear Husband is on board with this life decision we made and that between his job, our families and my frugality, we are able to survive financially.

I considered how much I love their morning breath, their demands for my pillow and their midnight crises, because it means we are together and we have each other.

Not to say there weren’t disastrous moments that day.  I may or may not have calmly (though seething with rage) swept up a box full of Legos.

But I had that morning.  That morning when we could share in our own circle of love.

 

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I discovered that existence is no more than a never-ending circle in a roundabout kind of way

  1. aviets says:

    That sounds absolutely heavenly. I’m sure I’m remembering those years with rose-colored glasses because I know a lot of those times I was fuming over having yet another night of sleep disrupted…but I always, at some level, appreciated having them right there.

  2. April says:

    Aww, love this!!

Leave a Reply

