Late night truckers burn the midnight oil

wpid-20141117_101018.jpgI think marbleizing paper has been one of my favorite art activities.  It definitely created some take-home worthy art, at least in my family.

The idea for this project came from the blog, Unplug your kids.  Definitely a blog I want to read more on.

I didn’t get a picture of my set up, because, life was happening too quickly, but I’ll explain a bit on what we did.

Each child had a roasting pan with just enough water to cover the bottom.  You don’t want to use much more than that because the art project just won’t work.  Because I used dollar store roasting pans, they weren’t big enough for the regular paper-sized cardstock, so I had to cut the card stock in half.

I had the mason jars back out.  In each mason jar I used about 3T of vegetable oil, 1 T of liquid watercolors and mixed it up really well.  I dropped pipettes (pack of 100 is less than $5) into each jar.  I demonstrated to the children how to drop the color into the roasting pans and encouraged them to go to town creating masterpieces.

wpid-20141117_100652.jpgOnce they were content with the color swirls and combinations within the roasting pan, I very gently laid a piece of paper on top of the water, trying not to submerge it.  Together, we counted to 30 while I tried to keep them from pushing the paper all the way into the water.  I was mostly successful.

wpid-20141219_031553.jpgIt took a full day to dry, but it was worth it.  I don’t even think these will be Christmas gifts – I’m thinking our own art installation at home!

This entry was posted in Montessori-ish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Late night truckers burn the midnight oil

  1. Must try thay with the little one over the holidays, looks fun!

  2. marysmontessorischool says:

    Another way to do this is to use shaving cream as the medium. Takes no time to dry.

  3. Pingback: What is a duck’s favorite game to play? Billiards. | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

