Don’t let your gourd down – there’s nothing worse than disappointed squash

wpid-20141106_151502.jpgAfter the monstrous science experiment of baking bread, I needed to keep it low-key, again, for my art group.  I also wanted to incorporate some more nature back into the playgroup.  Gourds.  Of course.

I did struggle a little bit as I was setting it up.  Did I really want to encourage the children to paint over these already incredible masterpieces of misshapen, bumpy, colorful pieces of art?  Sure!  Why not?  It is a little different than paper, and we did it in mid-October (I know!  I’m so behind!) so it was really fitting with the season.

I picked up a couple of bags of cool looking gourds from our local farm stand, gave each child a paper plate full of paint, a paint brush, and told them to have at it.

Unfortunately I didn’t get many good pictures, so I leave you with this blurry picture of one of my mini-ions gourd creations.  It was a long, bumpy wacky one that he really enjoyed the sensation of painting over.  He looked at it in new ways.  He finished painting and asked for another one – isn’t that the whole point?

This entry was posted in Montessori-ish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t let your gourd down – there’s nothing worse than disappointed squash

  1. Pingback: What is a duck’s favorite game to play? Billiards. | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

