College bred is a four-year loaf made out of the old man’s dough

wpid-20141103_100836.jpgSome days you just want to play.  You don’t want to have a huge set up.  You don’t want to have to create a masterpiece.  You just want to play.  And play dough is perfect for that.

I’ll admit, when I put it on the schedule, I did feel like a bit of a cheat.  But when the first child walked in, saw what we were doing and yelled out, “I love play dough!”, I felt instantly reaffirmed.

As you can see, I had a ton of tools, thanks to donations.  I bought a ton of play dough.  And there was a ton of fun.

As some of the moms discussed whether they have/do this at home, some not because of the messiness, if reaffirmed to me that I was doing the right thing.  One of my goals of this group is to have a place for the children to get messy, and do those things that you may not feel ready to tackle at home, myself included.  Something about, for me, doing these things at play group, make me step back, be less controlling, less worried about mess.  Maybe because I’ve taken the proper precautions to try to secure the area.  Maybe because I know I have a team of moms that help clean up.  Maybe because I know these are activities that the children need as part of their growing life.

Next session, I think I need even more play dough and more tools!!

This entry was posted in Montessori-ish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to College bred is a four-year loaf made out of the old man’s dough

  1. aviets says:

    Who doesn’t love play dough? We especially loved it when it was a batch we made ourselves!

  2. Carol E. Tessman says:

    YES,YES,YES!

  3. Pingback: What is a duck’s favorite game to play? Billiards. | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

