The mother who worked as a baker was a real breadwinner

wpid-20141010_145120.jpgI had a seven-month old baby, whom I had left my job to stay home and take care of, when my previous job called and asked me to consult for a bit.

Financially, it came at a perfect time.  We had been scraping by and could really, really use the extra cash.  While Dear Husband’s parents were kind of nearby, we relied on them heavily to watch Mini-ion #1 for a day or two during the week while we stayed at their house, but I knew there would be a week where the intensity of my job would be really heavy, so I asked my mom to come and stay and help us all.  As we were discussing preparations, I told her I was craving pumpkin, so she brought her pumpkin bread recipe, made it for us, and it was just the thing to help with a crazy week and a strange transition.  And did I mention it makes 2 breads?

Fast forward to this fall, and I’m talking food with my mom as we prepare to spend a week with them in a cabin in VA.  My mom sounds low and says, “I wish you had my pumpkin bread recipe.”  I do!  And I have fresh pumpkin from the effort of roasting a pumpkin! Fall is saved! Pumpkin bread to the rescue, again!

I don’t have the exact recipe book this recipe comes from, but I believe it comes from one of those cookbooks that the ladies of an organization put together as a fundraiser.  Do people still do that?  I’m glad they did it, and grateful to Sarah Catsonis, the recipe contributer, so my mom and I had the chance to brighten each other’s lives.  Here is her recipe with my mother’s and my adjustments.

Sarah Catsonis’s Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

3 cups sugar

1 cup coconut oil (recipe calls for salad oil, but I’ve been on a coconut oil kick)

4 eggs, beaten

2 cups pumpkin (or 1-16oz can)

3 1/2 cups flour

2 tsp baking soda

2/3 cup water

2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp allspice

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground cloves

Directions:

  1. Grease and flour 2-9×5″ loaf pans.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream sugar and warmed coconut oil (warmed to the point of liquid, but not too hot so it doesn’t cook the eggs).
  3. Add eggs and pumpkin.  Mix well.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder, nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon and cloves.
  5. Add dry mixture alternately with water to pumpkin mixture.  pour into loaf pans.
  6. Bake at 350 for 1 hour, 10 minutes or until they test done.
  7. Cool 10 minutes and remove from pans.

At the bottom of this cookbook page is the inspiration, “Joy is not in things, it is in us.” – aren’t these kind of cookbooks great?

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The mother who worked as a baker was a real breadwinner

  1. aviets says:

    Yes! My most tried and true recipes come from old church fundraiser recipe books. I still turn to them regularly!

  2. Me says:

    Perfect timing…..I may have too many cans of pumpkin for Thanksgiving so I can make some bread for us!

Leave a Reply

