Fairy tales can really dragon

image

There is some concern around my family that I may have lost my mind.

image

On a recent family camping trip, we were hiking and when we took a break for lunch, my family’s concern began. Because as the mini-ions climbed over rocks, I was in front of a tree building a fairy house.

Yes, yes, I know,  there is room for improvement.  These are the first two houses I’ve built. But it has been fun and a little magical.  I’ve gotten involved in this because the play area we’re building at my church will have a fairy garden and I’ve needed to explore the elements of it. But also, I think it is cool to leave little fairy homes in random places for the people after me, to discover.  To me, it is like leaving a little magic behind.

image

I have Mini-ion #1 interested as well.  We keep a pile of twigs on on our front porch for him to construct buildings.  On our camping trip,  I wasn’t the only one squatting in front of a tree. While none of his buildings have allowed for more than an ant sized fairy, I know that he is learning and discovering.

image

During a recent fairy house construction I noticed Dear Husband observing me. My architect husband,  watching what I’m doing,  in that superior kind of way that says he could do a way better job. Maybe I’m  imagining the tone, but I did invite him to join me. It would seem to me that he could put his skills and years of schooling to some beautiful magic. He refused. 

If we all clapped and said, “I believe “, maybe he would join.  But in the meantime,  I’m going to keep leaving behind little magical gatherings of sticks.

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fairy tales can really dragon

  1. Elodie says:

    Maybe that’s what someone was trying to do in the Blair Witch Project? Lol
    In all seriousness, I really love this and will try it on our next outing 🙂

  2. aviets says:

    Good for you! Fairy houses were a mainstay of our backyard play for many years. 🙂

  3. Me says:

    This is awesome….do check the back of wardrobes for magical kingdoms?

Leave a Reply

