A perfectly spherical pumpkin makes good pi

wpid-20141001_131306.jpgThere I was, wanting to make pumpkin chocolate chip cookies for our next Mom’s Group gathering, having all the materials needed, except the pumpkin.

Faced with the idea of going to our grocery store with two mini-ions in tow, parking at the back of the parking lot (there never seems to be closer spots), getting both mini-ions into a car cart (the grocery carts with the cars upfront, rendering the balance of the grocery cart useless, requiring my entire body to swing behind it in order to make a turn), picking up a can of pumpkin, slamming the car cart through the too small check-out aisles and walking a quarter of a mile back to my car, I elected to drive the one mile to our favorite farm stand and make pumpkin puree from one of their beautiful pumpkins.

I still stand by the fact that baking a pumpkin and pureeing it was easier than taking them to the grocery store.

I used what the farm stand called, a Cinderella pumpkin. I’m not sure what the proper name was for it prior to Disney, but it did remind me of Cinderella’s coach.

wpid-20141001_152156.jpgI sliced the beautiful pumpkin in half, scooped out the seeds, poked holes with a fork, and put half, cut side down, in a 350 degree oven for about 1.5 hours.  I poked it with the fork to see how tender it was and when it felt fork tender, I brought it out to cool while I baked the other side.

wpid-20141001_152207.jpgOnce it was cool enough, I scraped the inside into a mesh strainer to release the juice.  Once I had mashed it against the strainer to get the juices out, I pureed it, then strained it again.

It looked beautiful, it tasted beautiful.  It was one of those things I always wanted to try and am really glad that I did.  The 24 lb pumpkin gave me over 120 ounces of pureed pumpkin, which I’ve used nearly all of in various foods.

And it was still easier than taking the mini-ions to the grocery store.

This entry was posted in food, healthier eating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A perfectly spherical pumpkin makes good pi

  1. aviets says:

    Wow. I would never attempt that. You’re a hero.

  2. Pingback: When I told them about how I escaped my pumpkin prison, they said I was out of my gourd | crumbsoffthetable

  3. Pingback: The mother who worked as a baker was a real breadwinner | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

