A pun spun with a good yarn gets fabricated

As I’ve become a parent and begun to realize that I’m the first role model my mini-ions will have, I’ve tried to consciously put more good out in the world.  One project is a community play area in the backyard of my church.  It’s intended to be a way for children to get back with nature, filled with natural and/or recycled materials.

In the creation of this play area, we’re selling pickets that can be engraved with a message, name, etc.  And its through this that I’ve had my heart warmed to be unexpectedly getting back some of the good that I had hoped to put out in the world.

To start, with my friends, some of whom, as soon as they heard about a sponsored picket, got a check in the mail to me.  Having my friends sponsor these pickets means so much to me, especially since most of them I don’t see frequently, but it’ll be a reminder of their friendship every time we play there.

Then my family, who is honoring loved ones with names on the fence.  There will be a couple for my beloved grandmother who just passed.  For my mother-in-law that we lost too soon.  And for my brother who I never knew because he passed so young.  That last one still brings me to tears of joy, to think that he’ll be a part of this.

Then there will be the pickets that are done to thank those that have helped with material donations.  They will be honored as well on the fence.

And finally the big surprises – the family from my church that is organizing a group donation to remember former members of the church that have passed.  The family from my church that gave a sizeable donation to leave inspirational messages along the fence post.  And the friend that is organizing donations from her friends to add more inspirational messages.

It is so encouraging to be getting this support.  I haven’t done it to get something back, to feel it returned.  I’ve done it because I think it is the right thing to do.  But when it does come back, it feels really really good.

This entry was posted in family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A pun spun with a good yarn gets fabricated

  1. aviets says:

    What a great project! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

