The evil onion had many lairs

Roasted chicken with brussel sprouts and onionsWhen my Italian friend offered to make me chicken or lasagna, of course I said lasagna.  She was prepared for both, and the chicken recipe was one of those recipes attached to the McCormick herb packages, which she left behind for me.  And that has become one of Dear Husband’s and my favorite meals.

This recipe is groundbreaking for me for another reason.  I am a die-hard onion hater.  My parents always told me I would grow out of it, but I never did.  I hate onions.  Until I had them roasted in this amazing recipe.  And now I pick them out of out of the roaster to eat.

We’ve adapted this recipe a bit to become the family jewel that it is.  On its own, this recipe is quite delicious.  If you want the original recipe with just chicken thighs and potatoes, you can find it here.  But keep reading to get our adapted version with onions and brussels sprouts (what!!).  Yes, and it is amazing.  The oil and the roasting caramelizes the onions and brussels sprouts into sweet goodness in this one dish delight.  And chicken thighs are about the cheapest chicken you can find – I can get it for $0.99 a lb at our local BJ’s.

As a side note, when I married dear husband, the vegetables he would eat were spinach and corn.  That’s it, spinach and corn.  He’s ok with onions on occasion.  But in this recipe, he’ll eat brussels sprouts.  Turns out, he’ll also eat well cooked asparagus and uncooked carrots.  I am unrelenting.

Roasted Chicken Thighs with Onions and Brussels Sprouts.

Ingredients:

4 tsp Paprika

3 tsp crushed Rosemary

2 tsp minced Garlic

1 tsp ground black Pepper

4 Tbsp olive oil

2 tsp salt

8 bone-in, skin on chicken thighs

1 large white/yellow onion

1lb brussels sprouts

 

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Mix oil, spices and salt into very large bowl.
  3. Remove the bottoms and halve the brussels sprouts (removing any leaves that are brown)  Add to spice bowl.
  4. Quarter the onion, then take each quarter and cut again to make small slices.  Add to spice bowl.
  5. Add the chicken thighs.  Toss to coat the chicken, onion and brussels sprouts.
  6. Arrange contents of bowl in single layer on a large baking pan (I use a Pampered Chef stone large stone cookie sheet)
  7. Roast 60 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and vegetables are tender and crispy.

We generally keep a couple servings of this in the freezer too!

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The evil onion had many lairs

  1. aviets says:

    I’m saving this one to try – sounds delicious and pretty healthy! -Amy

  2. Jan Davidson says:

    Sounds good, but don’t the brussel sprouts get mushy??

  3. You describe dishes better than Nigella. I’m there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

