The new parent training class was called apparenticeship

awesome mom momentsHave you had one of those, “awesome mom moments”?  One of those moments when you feel like, hey, you just might be doing it right!

I did yesterday.  After a surprisingly easy trip to our local BJ’s (where I do the majority of your weekly shopping), we are loading the car and Mini-ion #1 INSISTS on sitting with his favorite food from the shopping trip.  In this case, it was bananas, grapes, apples and yogurt.

That’s not to say that if we had bought chocolate covered raisins, that those would have been what he wanted to sit with.  But it made me swell with pride with the idea that he loves this healthy food.  If you would have asked me a year or two ago, I would have said, no, he doesn’t eat healthy.  Yet, here he is, loving these things so much, he wants to sit with it!

Yes, could it be better, of course.  Could it be broccoli and spinach he wanted to sit with?  Or all strictly organic or non-gmo food?  Sure.

Back in my days of advertising, I used to keep a folder in my email that was called accomplishments.  It was where I kept emails where I was praised for working hard or doing good work.  And I always suggested to the people that worked for me to do the same.  Because there will be days when you are low, overworked, underappreciated, just got yelled at for the most ridiculous thing and you aren’t sure how you are going to lift your head back up.  Then go to that folder and look at all the times you’ve been appreciated.  That will help you lift your head back up.

I think as parents, we should celebrate our wins.  The big ones and the small ones.  The perfect ones and the partially perfect ones.  Because we’ve all had days where we feel low, for a variety of reasons, even when we are doing the best we can with what we’ve got.  And what we’ve got just doesn’t seem to be enough.

I’ll be thinking back on this win, that he loves apples, grapes, bananas and yogurt so much that he wants to sit with it on his ride home.

And maybe I’m not such a bad mom after all.

This entry was posted in family, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The new parent training class was called apparenticeship

  1. aviets says:

    I like the way you think! 🙂 -Amy

Leave a Reply

