If your mother’s sister is against poker – the aunty may be anti-ante

[wallcoo_com]_pr03080005I’m going to be an aunt!  For the first time!  I’m so excited!  Is it the “grandparent” idea, where I can play and spoil them, then give them back to their parents?  All the snuggles with none of the late nights.

I could be over thinking it a lot. I’ve probably already had three conversations with Dear Husband about what kind of Aunt and Uncle we’re going to be.  He generally grunts his way through the conversation until he feels safe to change it.  I AM a lucky girl!

At any rate, with a pregnant sister-in-law comes a baby shower.  This is a tough one.  Because we all miss my mother-in-law, who passed away in 2010.  I wanted to find a way to channel her into this shower.  To hopefully feel her with us.

I thought back to when we had Mini-ion #1 and one thing stuck out to me, the Tales of Peter Rabbit book that my mother-in-law got for him.  I asked Dear Husband if that was a favorite of his mom’s.  He grunted towards the yes, so I decided to use that theme.  After talking with my father-in-law, sister-in-law and family friend, that was indeed a favorite book.

I’ll go through a series of all the different elements, but I’ll say it was a lot of work and a lot of fun.  Throughout, I just tried to open my heart to hopefully hear what my mother-in-law would have wanted me to do.  Many decisions I made were long thought about, hoping to “hear” her input.  Did I?  I think so.

It was a lovely garden party.  A perfect day.  And we are so excited to meet our little niece!

This entry was posted in family, party planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If your mother’s sister is against poker – the aunty may be anti-ante

  1. mammaspeaks says:

    Congratulations would-be aunt! Good intentions always pay well! It’s so awesome to learn that you tried to take your deceased mother in law’s place so that your sister in law doesn’t miss her too much. That’s so sweet of you!

Leave a Reply

