Even with dressing my salad looked bare, so I put some cloves on it

avocado pasta saladTen and a half years ago, I took on a mission.  If I had known it would have taken me this long to accomplish it, I might have included it in my wedding vows.  This mission was to find a summer salad dear husband would eat.

Dear husband has an abhorrence for white creamy food.  He almost incurs a gag reflex at the thought of eating mayonnaise, sour cream or cottage cheese.  Interesting fact, though, butter is no problem.  He doesn’t care for ranch dressing and only in the last six years or so has acknowledged that he will allow Caesar dressing in his life, in small quantities. With those restrictions, come summer barbecue time, he’s typically left out of side dishes.  And the idea of making a big summer salad on Friday to eat all weekend, becomes an exercise in futility.

What about a taboule salad you ask?  He doesn’t like the texture, or tomatoes.  A beautiful corn salsa?  Nope, doesn’t like most of the vegetables or the black beans.  He isn’t really a fan of the greek pasta salads either – too many vegetables.

But I hadn’t given up hope.

Recently I’ve been on an avocado binge.  It may be in part to my healthy morning smoothies,  one of my goals for this year, that I’m happily still continuing.  But I can’t stop eating them.  I had seen a bit of chatter somewhere about trading mayonnaise for avocados and gave it a try and loved it.  Soon I was making avocado chicken salad, rice salad, spaghetti squash salad.  Pretty much any leftovers I was finding in my fridge, I was trying to figure out how to make it a salad with avocados.  Then I realized that could be the key to dear husband’s summer salad enjoyment.  An avocado pasta salad!

I found a recipe for the base of the salad at allrecipes and tried it a couple of times.  I could barely get it in the fridge for the flavors to meld, I was “tasting” it so much.  I thought, I could have a winner here!

Turns out, I did!!  He put his fork down, looked me in the eye and said, “thank you for not giving up.  You did it.”

I dropped my fork and walked out of the room.

You can use whatever assorted vegetables works for your family.  I tried tomatoes (I know, but I couldn’t help it) and raw carrots.  The carrots were a little too tough.  I might try an apple, tomatoes and spinach next time.  I have used a 12oz box of pasta when making it.  It keeps at least a day (it hasn’t ever survived much longer than that in my house).  And avocados are one of those super foods, while containing fat, is a good fat and is a way better fat than mayonnaise.

Avocado Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 Avocados
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 2 t dried dill
  • 1 heaping t salt
  • 1/2 t black pepper
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 12oz box of pasta, cooked
  • assorted vegetables

Directions:

  1. Cut open the avocados and scoop them both out, into a large bowl, discarding the skin and pits.  Mash it up a bit with a fork.
  2. Add the olive oil, lime juice, dill, salt, black pepper and garlic powder.  Mash it up with the avocado until it becomes well mixed and smooth (you may even decided to prepare it like a dressing with an immersion blender which I’ve used before quite successfully)
  3. Add pasta and vegetables.  Let sit in fridge for at least 15 minutes for flavors to meld.

 

This entry was posted in food, healthier eating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Even with dressing my salad looked bare, so I put some cloves on it

  1. aviets says:

    This looks fantastic. I love summer salads, and I’m definitely trying this one! -Amy

  2. Well done!! My husband is not the best with vegies either – this won’t work for is because he doesn’t eat avocado. 😦

    I love a rocket, roast pumpkin and feta salad. You can just dress it with balsamic vinegar and olive oil and it tastes great.

  3. gannonham says:

    This looks really yummy! Can’t wait to give this recipe a try. I made a super yummy Greek pasta salad. I have the recipe posted on my blog, if you’d like to check it out: http://sweetseatstreats.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/easy-greek-pasta-salad/

Leave a Reply

