The new weed whacker is cutting-hedge technology

Have you ever looked at one of those pinterest posts and wondered, could this possibly work?  I’m here to tell you the credibility of one of them.  And it has made my life so much easier.

IMG_2957[1]If you look at one of the pictures of last year’s acts of summer awesomeness, you’ll see two happy mini-ions playing in a puddle.  You’ll also see a paver stone walkway full of weeds.  UGH!  What a pain that was!  It was easily two afternoons of weed pulling to get it all cleaned up, on top of constant maintenance.  You miss one or two weeds and before you know it, you have a walkway full of weeds again!

I read, somewhere, through Pinterest I’m sure, one of those 500 uses for baking soda.  One of the uses was spreading on your walkway to kill weeds.  I thought I had missed the boat on it last summer, so this spring I bought an enormous bag of baking soda to give it a try.

I sprinkled a heavy coat of baking soda over all the lines where weeds grow in April.  Then, I went through with a large broom and really made sure each of the lines had baking soda in it while brushing the majority off the stones themselves.  I think it rained the next day, so I was a little worried my 25 minutes of work had been washed away.

weedless walkwayI ran out of baking soda at the end, towards the stairs, but this is how my walkway looks, in June. Two months later and almost no weeds.  I think I’ve pulled two big ones out in the entire two months.  TWO MONTHS!  By the stairs where you see some weeds, I sprinkled some baking soda over them, just to see if it would work where weeds were there already, and it totally did.  All I did was sprinkle baking soda and right now, the weeds are dead.

No chemicals.  No back breaking weed pulling.

Just baking soda.

This entry was posted in gardening, Saving money and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The new weed whacker is cutting-hedge technology

  1. aviets says:

    Our patio is made of paving stones and the weeds are a pain in the neck every summer. I’m definitely trying this! -Amy

  2. So happy you shared this!! My patio is a never ending battle!!

Leave a Reply

