A sheep dog puppy who likes watermelon is a melon collie baby

watermelon rum saladThe other day I posted on facebook, “Leftover watermelon from the beach is great with rum.  That’s right, dear husband, tonight’s salad includes rum”.  That was frightening to him for many reasons.  He doesn’t like salad.  He doesn’t like alcohol in his food.  He doesn’t care about watermelon.  Let’s say, he didn’t rush home from work that day. But when he tasted it, he agreed, it was a winner!

It doesn’t have a strong rum taste.  It is simply amazing how the flavors all work together to enhance the natural watermelon flavors.  I loved it so much, I immediately brought it to two different bbq’s.

I found the recipe at epicurious while looking up ways to use some leftover watermelon.  After eating as much as I could and making watermelon water, I still had half a watermelon left!  This was a perfect use.

Watermelon Rum Salad

Ingredients

-half of a large watermelon

-1 lime

-1 T chopped fresh mint

-2 T of spiced rum (or whatever rum you have on hand)

Directions

  1. Cut watermelon into bite size chunks and put in large bowl.  Squeeze lime juice over it.  Add fresh mint and rum.  Mix together.  Chill for at least 15 minutes before serving.

Ta-da!  I would always recommend tasting to see if you want to adjust the flavors for your palate.  I really like rum, so I went a little heavier (the directions called for 1-1/2 T).  I didn’t zest the lime because I simply didn’t feel like it.  It was refreshing and the perfect summer salad.

 

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

