Sailors usually like their pier group

sensory binIn the early part of this year, I thought I needed my head examined.  By that, I mean that I started leading a Montessori-inspired playgroup.  If it is something you wish you had nearby and are the kind of person capable of starting things (everyone has their strengths), then believe me, you can make it happen.

I initially started with an unfinished space in my basement and graduated to my church’s parish hall space.  Based on a commitment from my church to want to provide this to the community, my space and insurance was free.  They also made a donation of toys, along with a lot of other people who donated toys when they heard about what I was doing.

I asked for a small fee from each family ($5 per session, with multiple day and multiple child discounts), paid the fee for my children and donated my time to make this happen.  That is how I got started.

You can read over my posts where I documented the activities we did this past semester.  I have even included a materials list which was purchased completely based on the fees from the family.

I advertised through my local mom’s groups and through my church.  And people came and they had fun.

Here are some of the things I learned this semester:

  • Don’t be afraid of mess – it is within the mess that splendid things happen
  • Follow the children – I adapted my curriculum through the semester based on things I saw the children liked and didn’t like
  • Be flexible – if an activity isn’t working, or isn’t working how you thought it would, be open to the paths that other moms and children are going down.  It could be even greater than you imagined.
  • Believe in yourself – You can do it.  You can be the change you want to see.
This entry was posted in Montessori-ish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sailors usually like their pier group

  1. I’m really proud of what you did. Thank you.

  2. Jan Davidson says:

    ME TOO!!!!

  3. Michele says:

    So proud of you. Great job.

Leave a Reply

