She sent some herbs by parsley post

It’s been a tenuous journey, and the next step is in place.  How it will continue, no one  truly knows.  But I have hopes.  Big hopes.  That a great majority of the 30 tomato plants I put into the ground will survive!

tomato plantThat’s right, 30 tomato plants!  I can’t believe I was able to get that many to survive!  Well, I’ve already lost one.  Still, I’m impressed that I’ve been able to bring 29 plants to this point in their life cycle.  I nearly ran out of room in my garden.

I did put toilet paper rings around the bottom to guard for cut worms.  I don’t know if I have any, but, I went to the trouble of planting 30 plants, I might as well put the toilet paper rings around them just in case.  I also tried, as much as possible, to put as much of the plant underground, even laying it down to give it a better root system.

The tomato varieties I have planted are roma and cherry.  I wish I had done a better job at marking which plant is which – something to work on for next year.

parsley seedlings
After planting my epic crop of tomato plants, I looked over the rest of my garden.  My dill is coming up nicely.  I was surprised to see my blueberry and grape vines still alive (and hopefully can give me fruit next year).  The carrot seeds were sprouting.  My parsley and onion rows just looked like rows of weeds.  I started, in one of my parsley rows, dejectedly plucking weeds, when to my surprise, I saw a little parsley plant!!  It’s sprouting too!  My seeds are working!  You know, you put them in there with hopes, and if you look closely, you’ll see that three leaved burst of life.  It gave me renewed energy and I delicately weeded the three rows of parsley and one row of onion.

I know, it is still early.  And my little nursery is being a bit neglected this week with other events coming up, just when I’m needed the most.  But I’m excited to see how it all turns out (successfully, I hope!).

This entry was posted in gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She sent some herbs by parsley post

  1. Pingback: Those who throw dirt are sure to lose ground | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

