Young animal doctors are vet behind the ears

Mickey Mouse Ice Cream Cone CupcakesWe recently had a very Mickey birthday party for our two Mini-ions.  Even though Mini-ion #1’s birthday was in March and Mini-ion #2’s is in May, I combined the two parties to have one big extravaganza.

One of my favorite parts was the Mickey ice cream cone cupcakes.  I wish I had a picture of them perfectly displayed, but, well, they were too busy getting eaten.

I did feel like I was super mom with these, and it was a lot easier to do than you think.

Let me start by saying I received a lot of help over the course of this Mickey party from my friend L, who is a super crafty person.  So by “I”, most of the time I mean, “L and I”.  And I’ve received notes from dear husband on what I could have done better.  Luckiest woman alive!

holder for cupcake ice cream conesBuilding the framework for the cupcakes was key.  L and I discussed a couple of different strategies, and the way we did it seemed the best for baking, storage and handling.  We used a small disposable baking dish, covered it in foil, then cut a whole large enough for each cone to fit through.  It was oven proof, it held the cones in place perfectly and it was easy to get the cones out, when needed.  I probably could have dressed it up a little and made this the serving platter because once I put the cones on a platter, they all seemed to fall over.

baked cupcakesI used a regular box cake mix (I haven’t found a homemade cake mix that I like yet, so I’ll continue with boxed for yellow cake.  I have two chocolate cake mixes I love, but it seemed like it might be too much chocolate for this venture).  I filled each cone less than 1/4 cup, about 1-1/2 scoops from my medium cookie scooper.  I wish I had done 2 scoops, but I was very concerned about making sure the cones didn’t overflow with mix.  1/4 cup may have been better for these cones.  I baked them based on the box directions, checked them, then ultimately baked them almost 10 minutes longer.  AS SOON AS YOU CAN HANDLE THEM, pull each one out and poke two holes in the bottom of the cone with a toothpick to release the steam.  You may even want to open the corner of the foil to allow for steam to come out.  You need to give the steam a chance to get so the cones don’t get soggy.

For the frosting, I just used a typical chocolate buttercream frosting.  Butter, confectioner’s sugar, cocoa powder, vanilla and milk whipped.  That didn’t give it the black color I needed, so I added Wilton Icing Gel in black to really get the right blackness.  To get the adorable Mickey ears, just a couple of mini oreos did the trick.

ice cream cone cupcake dissectedIdeally, the cupcakes would have nearly filled the cone so you are only using a quick swirl of frosting, and that can be a delicate balance.  But, I guess it depends on how much you love frosting.

 

This entry was posted in food, party planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Young animal doctors are vet behind the ears

  1. whatsasssays says:

    Wow! These look incredible! I’m sure they tasted delicious too 🙂
    Sass x

  2. I love this! Thanks for posting such detailed directions. Might have to put the idea aside for birthdays later in the year.

  3. Cute! Hope you don’t mind I reposted to Facebook! S friend of mine is doing a mickey themed bday soon..these are great!

  4. These look fantastic :-)x

  5. Pingback: A party for shy people is abash | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

