My favorite rapper is the Easter bunny, he’s really in to hip hop.

I like to have a plan for things.  Like holidays for example, and the food you eat.  At Thanksgiving it is turkey, at Easter it is lamb.  The wild card of Christmas dinner stresses me out a little bit.  Dessert is generally set for Thanksgiving and Christmas, but for Easter, the mother of chocolate madness, this dessert is challenging.  It needs to be phenomenal to match the deliciousness of Easter dinner.  It needs to leave a great taste, but not to filling to allow you to go back to your Easter basket a little bit later.

If you wondered what you’ll do next year for Easter, may I humbly suggest our (possibly traditional) Easter dessert, the Chocolate Éclair Cake.

This is a recipe my mom found in her constant quest for new recipes (I say this like I’m not constantly trying new recipes) at the blog, The Girl Who Ate Everything.  That blog name is reassuring on its own.  Her recipe certainly backs it up.

crust on a cookie sheetMy concern over the times I’ve made it, is that I need to make it in advance but am always concerned that the crust will get soggy.  Typically, I’ll make the crust the night before.  I’ll also mix the filling the night before.  Then, 10 minutes before I need to serve it, I can easily throw it all together.

I’ve also wished that instead of serving this in a 9×12 dish, I could serve it on a platter.  I liked the idea of making it more free floating.  This year I achieved it and really liked the result.  It reduces the amount of crust you get per piece, which I like a lot better.

chocolate eclair cakeI leave you with this tantalizing image of our Easter dessert (wishing I had done a better job writing “Easter” with the chocolate syrup).  It was everything you want from an Easter dessert – delicious, light and chocolatey.

 

 

Chocolate Éclair Cake

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup flour
  • 4 large eggs

Filling

  • 1 8oz package of cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 large box (5.1 oz) vanilla instant pudding
  • 3 cups milk

Topping

  • homemade whipped cream (or cool whip)
  • Chocolate syrup

Instructions

  1. The day before, make the crust and topping.  For the crust – preheat oven to 400.  Lightly grease a large cookie sheet.
  2. In a medium saucepan, melt butter in water and bring to a boil.  Remove from heat.
  3. Stir in flour.  Mix in one egg at a time, mixing completely before adding another egg.
  4. Spread mixture over cookie sheet.
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown.  Remove from oven and let cool completely (and DON’T TOUCH THE BUBBLES!!)
  6. When cooled, cover entire cookie sheet with saran wrap (if not making ahead, just let cool and do the filling).
  7. Make vanilla pudding by beating the pudding mix and milk for 3 minutes and put in the fridge until set.
  8. In a separate bowl, whip cream cheese.  Once pudding is thick, slowly add pudding to cream cheese, mixing until there are no lumps.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to assemble.  Also, whip the cream (if making homemade whipped cream)
  9. To assemble, slowly scrape under the crust to ensure no part is sticking to the cookie sheet.  Be extra sure, because the crust will easily rip if still attached.  Lay the crust on the serving platter.
  10. Smooth the filling over the crust.
  11. Top with layer of whipped cream.
  12. Drizzle chocolate syrup in a pattern over top.
  13. Amaze your family and friends with the deliciousness!

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My favorite rapper is the Easter bunny, he’s really in to hip hop.

  1. aviets says:

    Oh my…sounds heavenly!! -Amy

Leave a Reply

