When I asked if I could get insurance if the nearby volcano erupted they assured me I would be covered

“I know it smells bad, but if you can get over the smell……” were exactly the words I was looking to avoid using in our recent science experiment.  No doubt about it, vinegar has a distinct smell.  And then, imagine if it knocked over?

But thanks to Life is Peachy, when the families walked in, it smelled like pixie sticks.  And yes, we still had beautiful, glorious eruptions.

How?  The citric acid in Kool-Aid will react with baking soda when you add water.  This is how I did it:
set up for kool-aid eruptionsI started with a lot of Kool-Aid (less embarrassing then the eight bottles of baby oil).  Each packet of the no-sugar-added variety was enough to make 2 lines on a cookie sheet.  I put three flavors on each sheet.  Then covered with a medium coating of baking soda.  I tried sifting it with a mesh strainer and that didn’t work well for me at all, just sprinkling it out of the box worked the best.

On each table I had a mason jar filled with water and a handful of pipettes.  As the children walked in, the first thing that hit them was the smell.  It literally smelled like a candy store.  Then they saw a line of trays covered with white baking soda.

koolaid eruption exploration

They started with a single drop of water and the excitement erupted along with the kool-aid.  Drop by drop, the uncovered the veritable rainbow hidden under the baking soda.  Each new drop brought out a new burst of excitement and color.  Some squeezed small drops, savoring the anticipation.  Others squeezed huge sprays of water to keep the momentum going.

kool-aid eruptionsIt was beautiful!  I couldn’t stop taking pictures of the masterpieces that fizzled up.  As with many of our projects they did eventually walk away from it, but came back again and again.  When we knew we had some extra trays for people that didn’t show up, those trays were quickly brought into the mix for more eruptions.

At the end, Mini-ion #1 was really sad he wasn’t taking it home to show his dad.  He literally cried when I told him that wasn’t happening.  He tried negotiating all kinds of ways we could bring it home, but I was determined this kool-aid mess was going down the drain at the church, and not all over my car.
mini-ion 1 masterpiece
Dear Husband – take a look!

This entry was posted in Montessori-ish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When I asked if I could get insurance if the nearby volcano erupted they assured me I would be covered

  1. This is a great idea! I just have to work out what an Australian equivalent of Kool-Aid is…
    I absolutely love your blog titles.

    • Thanks 🙂 I did try to find an Australian substitute; most of the comments were, “thank god we don’t have this in Australia!” :). But if you can find some kind of powder with citric acid, I think it will work.

  2. Pingback: Say G’Day to the Neighbours (Zero to Hero day 11) | Looking Glass Mama

  3. Pingback: A good band leader is always in tune with what’s happening in order to be up-beat | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

