Two wrongs can make a riot

asparagus alfredoThis happened the other night for dinner.  And it was amazing.

So rewind a bit and you’ll recall I made a cauliflower alfredo and puffed up my chest and said that even though dear husband didn’t like it, he’d have to get used to it.  You can read all the gory details here.  Incidentally, I have gotten my mini-ions hooked on it.  I froze it in ice cube trays and have a big freezer bag full of frozen cauliflower alfredo blocks that I’ll drop into their pasta or rice and makes all of us totally happy.

Back to the present, or at least the morning of the beautiful asparagus alfredo pictured here.  At playgroup, one of our mom friends was telling me about a simply amazing soup with asparagus and lentils that I definitely want to try.  And like a pregnant woman with a craving so strong for juice that I’m willing to steal it out of a little boy’s hand (who was clearly throwing it around with utter disregard), I wanted asparagus.

Dear husband was working from home, so once I got Mini-ion #2 down for a nap, I could have grabbed Mini-ion #1 and we could have done the really necessary food shopping.  But I was really tired.  It had been a long, emotional week (and it was only Wednesday!) and I just wanted to stay home.  Luckily I had asparagus.  But kept imagining it as part of an alfredo.  With dear husband home, there was no way I could sneak some cauliflower into alfredo so……..here is my official, “I was wrong” – I’ll make non-cauliflower alfredo.

I started vigorously looking up recipes, because it had to include ingredients I already had for a fresh alfredo sauce.  Then I found it.  The shining light of alfredo sauces because, get this, IT’S MADE WITH BONE BROTH!!

The recipe comes from the blog, Gimme Some Oven, which may be my new favorite food blog because that is the second recipe I’ve used off of there recently.  At any rate, her recipe for Skinny Alfredo uses chicken broth, but bone broth was a perfect, flavorful substitute.

I used a white fiber spaghetti (12oz), because it was what I had on hand.  During the last 5 minutes of cooking, I added 1lb of chopped asparagus.  Then mixed it with the bone broth alfredo sauce, and it was delicious.  Even dear husband approved this new alfredo sauce as our go-to alfredo sauce.

Bone Broth Alfredo

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 cup bone broth
  • 1 cup low-fat milk (I used 2%)
  • 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper

Directions

While pasta is cooking, heat olive oil in a large saute pan over medium-high heat. Add garlic and saute one minute, stirring occasionally, until fragrant. Sprinkle with flour, and stir to combine. Saute for an additional minute to cook the flour, stirring occasionally.

Slowly add bone broth, whisking to combine until smooth (you may be concerned, after cooking a while that it is grainy, but keep in mind you have little pieces of garlic in there). Whisk in milk, and bring the mixture to a simmer. Let cook for an additional minute until thickened, then stir in Parmesan cheese until melted. Reduce heat to medium-low until pasta reaches al dente.

Drain pasta, then immediately add pasta to the saute pan with alfredo sauce. Toss to combine. Feeds 4.

It really was that easy, simple and delicious.  I’m going to start storing my bone broth in 1 cup containers so I’m always ready to make some alfredo.

This entry was posted in Bone Broth Bandwagon, food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two wrongs can make a riot

  1. Jan Davidson says:

    Sounds good and because of my smart daughter my bone broth is frozen in 1 cup containers. Think I’ll try it next week.

  2. claudine says:

    What kind of containers do you use??

    • I bought some BPA free freezer take-out containers (think deli soup containers). I want to look into other freezer container options. I’m thinking about canning jars, but get a little nervous about it.

Leave a Reply

