The Irish should be rich because their capital is always Dublin

There were two things you could count on at my mother-in-law’s table for a special meal.  Shrimp cocktail as an appetizer and cheesecake for dessert.  Talk about jackpot!

Just as my husband’s Aunt is known for her flan (and about telling us how she messed it up), my mother-in-law became known for her cheesecake.

I am a fan of cheesecake myself.  And early in our marriage, we were having my in-laws over for dinner around St. Patrick’s Day.  While my Irish heritage is uncertain, my dear husband’s Irish heritage is well established, so I wanted to serve a more traditional St. Patrick’s Day dinner of corned beef and all.  But when it came to dessert, the only thing on my mind was cheesecake.

And here is one of those delicate situations that all wives face.  I want to make cheesecake, but in no way did I want to compete with my mother-in-law’s cheesecake, in the physical form or in my husband’s mind.  So I delicately broached the idea of an Irish Cheesecake to my husband, who liked the idea.

Irish Cream White Chocolate CheesecakeI made the Irish cheesecake, but as my mother-in-law had some diet goals ahead of her for an upcoming trip, I also made a sugar free green jello with low fat whipped topping (yep – doesn’t sound good to me either, but I was trying to be accommodating).  Well, my mother-in-law looked right past the jello to see what the cheesecake was all about.

I was pretty lucky with my mother-in-law, and this was one of those cases.  There was no talk of being threatened or competition with her cheesecake (and for good reason, her cheesecake is really delicious), but just how scrumptious and fun this cheesecake was on its own.

I got the recipe from here and have made few modifications..  This helped open the door, in our house, to new flavored cheesecakes, and certainly this one on St. Patrick’s Day.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

Crust

      • 10 graham crackers, broken up
      • 1 1/4 cups pecans
      • 1/4 cup sugar
      • 6 tablespoons butter, melted

Filling

      • 1 1/2 lbs cream cheese, room temperature
      • 3/4 cup sugar
      • 3 large eggs
      • 1/3 cup Irish Cream (Bailey’s or Molly’s works)
      • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
      • 3 ounces imported white chocolate

Topping

    • 1 1/2 cups sour cream
    • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
    • 1 ounce white chocolate, grated
    • green sprinkles
    • shamrock cookie cutter

Directions

  1. Break the white chocolate into pieces.
  2. Lightly butter a 9-inch springform pan with 2 3/4-inch-high sides.
  3. Finely grind the graham crackers, pecans and sugar together in processor.
  4. Add the butter and blend, using on/off turns.
  5. Press mixture on bottom and 2 inches up sides of the pan.
  6. Chill for 20 minutes.
  7. Preheat oven to 325°.
  8. Prepare the filling: With a electric mixer, beat cream cheese and sugar in large bowl until smooth.
  9. In a medium bowl whisk eggs, Baileys and vanilla extract just until blended.
  10. Beat mixture into the cream cheese mixture just until blended.
  11. Finely chop the white chocolate in processor using on/off turns; add to cheese mixture.
  12. Pour filling into crust.
  13. Bake until edges of the filling are puffed and dry looking and center is just set, near 50 minutes.
  14. Let cake cool on rack.
  15. Make topping: Mix sour cream and powdered sugar in small bowl.
  16. Spread topping onto cake when cooled; sprinkle chocolate over.
  17. Refrigerate until chilled, overnight or 6 hours.  Just before serving, place shamrock cookie cutter in the middle of the cake, gently fill in with green sprinkles.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Irish should be rich because their capital is always Dublin

  1. Pingback: Thank the Greeks for Cheesecake | Recipes for a Healthy You

  2. Pingback: Three Cheers for Cheesecake! | Find A Venue

Leave a Reply

