Bees make money by celling their honey

With a weather forecast projecting 6-10″ of snow, and ice on top of it, I was happy when dear husband decided to work from home.  I really love when he works from home.  Although it can be tough because our desks are currently set up in the playroom and the mini-ions like to see him.  But everything just seems a little easier when he’s there, even if he has his headphones on, concentrating on his work.

With that said, I do like to have some way of getting the mini-ions out of the house when he’s home.  But with this massive storm coming, there was no way of doing that.  Fortunately a good portion of the day was spent shoveling out.  Once Mini-ion #2 was done for a nap, I got Mini-ion #1 involved in a task with me to keep him out of dear husband’s hair.

This task was making our own granola.  I’m imagining my crunchy points are skyrocketing from this, but it just makes a lot of sense.  The mini-ions are gobbling down yogurt with Raisin Bran Crunch, but I would be really happier if I got them away from the unknown of RBC and was able to include some really nutritionally beneficial ingredients.  And save money.  I love the idea of moving from cereal to granola.

chocolate walnut granola

Chocolate Walnut Granola – fresh out of the oven

One of the moms in my mom’s group was telling me how she gave away granola as Christmas gifts and she had friends requesting seconds.  I begged her to share her recipe – and luckily it is a step by step suggestion of how/what to include in your granola.  Rachel Sanders, from Buzzfeed has nailed it!

Mini-ion #1 and I put together our first batch and it is just tasty!  If I could have you smell it, you would certainly agree.  We used ingredients we had around the house, to see how we liked the idea of it.  I’m looking forward to branching out to really find a family favorite.  Here’s what we included:

3 cups old fashioned oats

3 Tablespoons uncooked quinoa

1 Tablespoon of this crazy chia/flaxseed ground mix I found at walmart to include in my smoothies

1-1/2 cups chopped walnuts

3/4 cup honey

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tsp kosher salt

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup of raisins (after it cooled)

Dear husband loved the idea, but not this particular variety, so I made another quick batch for him to take to work. Here is his mix:

3 cups old fashioned oats

1 Tablespoon chia/flaxseed mix

1-1/2 cups chopped walnuts

3/4 cup honey

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 cup raisins (after it cooled)

I love that I can make a “cereal” the whole family can enjoy.

 

This entry was posted in food, healthier eating and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bees make money by celling their honey

  1. aviets says:

    I’m always on the lookout for a new granola recipe – think I’ll try this one! -Amy

  2. Mummy Says says:

    You have inspired me. This looks delicious – thank you! x

Leave a Reply

