Nuts are so expensive these days. Nearly cost you an almond a leg

IMG_3904[1]I mentioned before of our family tradition of making Scrabble on Army/Navy game day, and it makes enough to share.  I can remember, as a child, this was the gift for our bus drivers, teachers, mail lady, newspaper boy – everyone got this stuff.  I used to make it for parties and it was one of the first things that got gobbled up.

My mom got the recipe from someone, who got it from someone else, etc.  It’s one of those recipes that you modify to suit your tastes – I’ve modified the ingredients from my mom’s recipe, and I’m sure she did the same.

I’ve already got mine in jars I saved over the year, ready to hand out as gifts.  On Christmas Eve, we’ll also be hand delivering a small bag of it, with our Christmas card, to our neighbors.  For me, it is a taste of home (no matter how much I modify it) and just makes me feel happy.  Here’s the recipe:

Scrabble

5lbs mixed salted nuts

1 large box crispex

1 half box of a large box of cheerios

1 bag of pretzels (whatever pretzels you prefer, we used twists this year, other years we’ve really enjoyed butter pretzels)

2 cups vegetable oil

2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp garlic salt

1 Tbsp seasoned salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees

2. Pour nuts, crispex, cheerios and pretzels into a large roasting pan.

3. Pour the vegetable oil into a medium bowl.  Combine the Worcestershire sauce, garlic salt and seasoned salt in the bowl with the oil.  Pour over the contents of the roasting pan.

4. Bake at 250 for 30 minutes.  Pull out of the oven and stir.  Bake for another 30 minutes, pull out and stir.  Bake for another hour, stirring every 15 minutes.  If you make a double batch, switch the roasting pans between the top and bottom shelves at each stir.

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

