When vegetables want to converse with petunias, they use a cell phone and cauliflower

Again on my never-ending quest to get vegetables into my family.

A long time ago, I had the thought, hmm, I bet cauliflower would be good in alfredo sauce.  And if not good, at least unnoticeable.  I tried it, I thought it was mostly unnoticeable, but I didn’t cook it long enough before I pureed it and my husband detected it and has been suspicious ever since.

But I can’t give up.  I can’t give up on giving good, healthy food to my family, even if dear husband is going to feel betrayed when I sneak vegetables into his favorite foods.

All over pinterest has been the recipe for cauliflower alfredo.  Straight up alfredo made from cauliflower.  I cautiously gave it another try.  Here is the best, original post from which I followed the recipe.

IMG_3809[1]

I started by making a vegetable stock.  Then cooked a big head of chopped cauliflower in the vegetable stock. I put that in a big mixing bowl.  I added some garlic sautéed in butter, some of the remaining vegetable stock, salt, black pepper and nutmeg.  I pulled out my immersion blender and blended, then swirled in a tablespoon of olive oil.   I tasted it and it was delicious.  For me, just at that point, delicious.  Not gritty, just smooth alfredo.  I cooked it over low heat, added the heavy cream.  Even added in some parmesan and the pasta water.  I loved it.

Dear husband tasted the cauliflower.  I told him if he didn’t want it, put it back in the bowl, I would eat it.

Here is my warning for all who try it.  Apparently it does taste like cauliflower.  But, if you like the taste of cauliflower, you are in for a real treat.  Unfortunately for my husband, this is likely my go-to alfredo.  Now to get my mini-ions hooked on it!

This entry was posted in family, food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When vegetables want to converse with petunias, they use a cell phone and cauliflower

  1. Pingback: Two wrongs can make a riot | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

