Sick fish go to the sturgeon

Please bear with me – I contracted a stomach virus on Sunday and have been alternating between the bed and the couch since then.  Today I’ll actually go out in public again, which may or may not be the best idea, but if I don’t, the mini-ions will surely revolt.  There is only so much Paw Patrol they can watch.

Being sick while being a parent is one of those things that isn’t really talked about as a hazard of parenting.  Especially if you don’t have a tremendous amount of family around you, there isn’t a lot you can do besides tough it out.  You don’t want to bring others into the fold because you don’t want to get them sick, but you are so desperate to just be able to lay on the couch in peace you are willing to risk it.  It’s worse if both of you are sick, which dear husband and I both were on Monday.  It was almost 1pm before either of us were really capable of leaving bed.  Fortunately Mini-ion #2 had a cold and just wanted to lay in bed with us and Mini-ion #1 is at a point where he can get his own breakfast.

If you take away anything from our tale of woe, it is encouraging independence as early as possible.  Monday would have looked a whole lot worse if it wasn’t for the abilities and the independence that Mini-ion #1 has achieved.  He can get his own breakfast, his own water.  Many times he can get himself dressed and to the bathroom.  And we never needed it more than we did on Monday.

Hopefully I’ll be back up soon.  Each morning I keep thinking I must be better, but not.  Here’s hoping on tomorrow!

Aside | This entry was posted in family, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sick fish go to the sturgeon

  1. geanieroake says:

    Hang in there. I remember being in this situation when my oldest was a toddler. As I lay on the on couch in a coma, he discovered my box of tissues. I watched in helpless gratitude as he spent the next hour pulling one tissue after another out of the box and flinging it into the air. Luckily it was a big box.

  2. Pingback: Doctors’ handwriting is often sickeningly ill-egible. | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

