What do you call cheese that is not yours? Nacho Cheese

I’ve been stocking up on meat, anytime it is on sale, since I bought our new freezer in September.  On Wednesday of this week, I realized I had no idea what food we’d be eating all weekend.  I checked my freezer, found a couple of pork shoulders and started the defrost process on one.

Pork shoulders are one of those truly versatile meats, cheap and yummy.  But an almost 9lb shoulder is a huge commitment.  As we didn’t really have plans outside of the house for the weekend, I was ready to commit.

I asked my facebook friends, besides pulled pork sandwiches, what would you do?  I got a bunch of answers so will now chronicle our pork shoulder food adventure.

To get it off to a good start, I rubbed it with a dry rub that I got from here.  For a 9lb roast, here’s how I adjusted the measurements:

4.5 T Paprika

1.5 T Garlic Powder

1.5 T Brown Sugar

1.5 T Dry Mustard

4T Kosher Salt

After rubbing it all over the pork, I put the pork and a 1/4 cup of water in the slow cooker and cooked on low all night, with the skin side up.  The next morning, I flipped the pork and slow cooked it for another 10 hours, just to make sure it was nice and tender.

IMG_3799[1]Our first venture was pork tacos for dinner Friday night.  They were great, just some taco shells, pork, cheese and spinach.  Nice and simple.

For Saturday lunch, we had the recently made up BBQ Ranch Pork Nachos!  Delicious!!  I’m sure I’m not the first to come up with it, but this was my version.

Ingredients:

2 cups seasoned shredded pork

1/2 bag tostitos (or whatever chips you like your nachos on)

2 cups shredded cheddar

1/2 cup chopped fresh spinach

1 carrot, shredded

1/4 cup bbq sauce (I used Baby Ray’s)

1/4 cup ranch dressing

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 425.  On a cookie sheet (I used a Pampered Chef large stone bar pan), spread the chips out to making sure none are covered.

2. Sprinkle the shredded pork over the chips, making sure each chip is covered.  Sprinkle the shredded cheese over the chips.

3. Pop in the oven for 10 minutes.

4. Pull the cookie sheet out.  Sprinkle the shredded spinach and carrots over the nachos.

5. Mix the ranch and bbq sauce in a sandwich bag.  Cut the corner of the sandwich bag off.  Drizzle the ranch bbq mixture over the nachos.  I like to go in long, diagonal sweeps, from one corner to the next, then again from the opposite corner.

6. Enjoy!  Feeds about 6 people for appetizers, 2 people for lunch.

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do you call cheese that is not yours? Nacho Cheese

  1. Pingback: Some pigs were sold at auction while they were in a porking lot | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

