Put a piece of beef between two pieces of bread and you have a bull-only sandwich

IMG_3713[1]I had mentioned previously about our trip to the Virginia mountains and making a bit of food while there.  The other crockpot meal I wanted to share, that I made there, is called Dripped Beef.

That’s a horrid name for a food, I get it.  We call it Shredded Beef.  Dear husband and I nearly think it is life changing.  I found it in this book called, Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbook – an adorable slow cooker cookbook.  I tried it because I literally had all the ingredients already (something I love in a recipe).

Seasonings fit perfectly in a small spice container to give away.

Seasonings fit perfectly in a small spice container for homemade Christmas gifts.

This meal really has some legs.  And it is really simple.  You just combine all the spices with some water and a pot roast, slow cook it for about 7 hours, shred and eat.  It makes its own au jus which seems thin, but perfectly flavors pasta or rice.  I’ve brought it to potluck meals with buns.  I’ve given packets of the seasoning away, with the instructions, as easy, home-made Christmas gifts.  Mostly, dear husband and I enjoy it over some egg noodles.  Whenever our store has a sale on the cheapest meat, I know it will taste good as shredded beef.

 

Here’s the recipe!  With a big thank you to Mitzi McGlynchey from Downingtown, PA for her culinary magic.

Shredded Beef

3-4lb roast (we’ve used all kinds, including those tough London broils)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp seasoned salt

1 tsp pepper

1 Tbsp rosemary

1 Tbsp dried oregano

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 cup water

1. Combine all ingredients in slow cooker

2. Cover.  Cook on low, 6-7 hours.

3. Shred meat using two forks.  Return meat to slow cooker.  Serve meat and au jus over mashed potatoes, noodles or rice.

Makes 8 servings.

Enjoy!!

 

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

