In the autumn, mountain sheep can become very ram bunctious

We recently spent a week with my family at their timeshare in the mountains of Virginia.  This specific timeshare is one of my favorites.  As we arrived, my dad had a fire going in the fireplace of the wood cabin we stayed in.  With the leaves falling and the chill in the arm, it just inspires a feeling of contentment.

IMG_3741[1]One of the more stressful points for me in previous years has been dinner time.  My parents schedule and my mini-ions schedule don’t frequently jive.  In an effort to make this “business trip” less stressful, I volunteered to make dinner a couple of the nights (with my two mini-ions along, we barely ever eat out – it’s just an exercise in frustration).

I found this recipe that I think, tastes what autumn should taste like.  Conveniently, it is called Autumn Sausage Casserole.  It cooks in the crockpot and just enhances the smells of nature and a wood burning fire.  I got it from here who got it from a Taste of Home magazine.  It is perfect after a day raking leaves, hiking in the woods, or chasing after mini-ions.  I love it and even my dad said it had nice flavor (what?).  I brought it to my MOM’s group potluck trunk or treat and had requests for the recipe (here you go, E!).

Autumn Sausage Casserole

-1lb sausage, already cooked (I used ground pork sausage)

-2 small apples, chopped (with peels)

-1 yellow onion, chopped

-1 carrot, chopped

-3 cups already cooked rice (I’ve used minute rice and basmati rice)

-1/2 cup raisins

-1 T dried parsley

-1 T brown sugar

-1/2 tsp allspice

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-1/4 tsp black pepper

-1/3 cup water

Dump it all in the crockpot, stir.  Cook on low for 5-7 hours or on high for 3-4 until heated through and vegetables are soft.  It has the consistency of fried rice.  Feeds 4-6 adults.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the autumn, mountain sheep can become very ram bunctious

  1. Becky says:

    This picture was of my second bowl….it was very very good.

  2. Jan Davidson says:

    You didn’t mention the WONDERFUL Chocolate wine we discovered *grin*

  3. Pingback: Put a piece of beef between two pieces of bread and you have a bull-only sandwich | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

