The apple crossed the road to get to the other cider the street

The smells of Oktoberfest are ripe in the air around these parts. To go with the potato pancakes, today we made homemade applesauce from orchard apples we picked a little over a week ago.

This venture was initially started with the mini-ions and Mini-ion #1’s best friend. I had this great vision of all of them first cleaning the apples, then I bought them each a peeler so they would peel the apples, cut them and then stir all the ingredients.
IMG_3606[1]All three of them cleaned their apple (success!) and started eating it. Ok, that’s fine. I have more. Then two of the three repeatedly tried to bite into the next apple they were cleaning. Mercifully at the peeling stage, they all started to give up. Mini-ion #1 peeled about two pieces of one apple, started to give up, but I got him back in the game when I told him he could chop. After chopping half an apple, he was done to, and it was left to the best friend’s mommy and I to prepare the rest of the apples and get the sauce going. Luckily, she is an expert peeler, I’m an expert chopper, and two batches of applesauce were quickly simmering away.
I don’t know where I got my applesauce recipe, but my dear husband says it is the best applesauce he has ever had. That is high praise after tasting his grandmother’s applesauce. I made this in the early years of our marriage, back when I was trying to be “super-wife” and it has been a yearly treat ever since.
DH’s Favorite Applesauce
8 medium apples (I use orchard apples, generally a variety of types)
1-1/2 cups water
½ cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
¼ teaspoon nutmeg
¼ teaspoon ground cloves
1. Peel, core and dice the apples. Put in a large pot.
2. Cover with the remaining 5 ingredients. Stir to evenly coat the apples (don’t worry, it is enough water).
3. Cover and cook over medium heat for 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally.
4. Mash it with a potato masher to get a good mix of mashed and chunky apples.
5. Store in the refrigerator or freezer

To me, this smells and tastes like fall. And the perfect accompaniment to potato pancakes. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in food, party planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The apple crossed the road to get to the other cider the street

  1. Sounds yummy! And cooking with kids–always an adventure 🙂

Leave a Reply

