A cook made pancakes flippantly.

Now that dear husband and I are back from our epic 10 year anniversary trip, it’s time to buckle down and focus on the Oktoberfest that we planned for the very next weekend.

If I might add a party planning tip, don’t plan a huge party the weekend after you return from an 8-day vacation, taking up two weekends.  Just a tip I’m currently learning.

Potato pancakes in processAt any rate, I am immediately in action in preparing the food.  First up are potato pancakes.  We love potato pancakes.  When I was a child, it was standard fare for the weekend after Thanksgiving to use up the leftover mashed potatoes.  As an adult, I wonder how many mashed potatoes were made to actually have leftovers.

The authentic Bavarian way is to make them from shredded potatoes, not mashed and as I am ever about being authentic, I borrowed my sister-in-law’s food processor to shred potatoes and onions.  These are a great to make in advance because they can be frozen over the week, defrosted and crisped up in the oven prior to serving.

The recipe that I’m using is from here.  With about roughly 60 people coming, I endeavored to 9x the recipe.  Here was how I adapted the recipe:

9 large baking potatoes (I had small Yukon Golds from our local farmer stand, so I used about 27).  I also didn’t peel – I like that earthy taste

9 small onions

2 1/4 cup flour

7 eggs

1/2 cup applesauce

3 Tablespoons salt

1 Tablespoon pepper

Vegetable oil (for frying)

Shred the potatoes and onions.  Excessively strain to get the liquid out.  In a separate bowl, beat the eggs lightly.  Add the flour, applesauce, salt and pepper.  Mix thoroughly.  Add the potatoes and onions to the flour mixture.

Heat up 2 Tablespoons of the vegetable oil over medium high heat until the oil is shimmering.  Use heaping tablespoons to add the potato pancake mixture to the frying pan, flattening out with a spoon as you drop in the frying pan.  Fry on one side for about 1 minute (go a little longer if you are serving immediately), flip and fry on the other side for a minute.  Cool on paper towels.  Freeze when cool

When ready to eat them, defrost, and reheat them in a 400 degree oven in a single layer until warm and crisp.

After dropping a couple and Mini-ion #2 stealing them right off the cooling rack, I got about 70.  I think I need to make another batch or two.  I’ll be serving them with some homemade applesauce and sour cream.

This entry was posted in food, party planning and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A cook made pancakes flippantly.

  1. Pingback: The apple crossed the road to get to the other cider the street | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

