Each time I tried shooting blindfolded I found it an aimless pursuit.

My dear husband has been inadvertently shaming me. After getting up at 5:10 in the morning, commuting almost two hours to work, working an active 9 hour day, commuting almost two hours home, grilling the meat for our dinner and helping me put the kids to bed, he’s been then getting on the treadmill and running. RUNNING! At 8:30 at night.

At first I dealt with it with wine. But, unsurprisingly, that didn’t help.

He then encouraged me to run with him. Ppffssttt! But, it made me think……you know, Mini-ion #2 is sleeping through the night. Both mini-ions are getting up between 7 and 8 in the morning. When he leaves at 5:45 in the morning, many times I’m not able to get back to sleep……

I was resolved. I was going to get up at 6 to go for some exercise on the treadmill, take a shower (what? Daily showers?) and enjoy a cup of coffee in relative peace until the mini-ions descended on me.

The first morning I was giddy. As I was exercising, I was thinking of the ways I could spend my “me time”. Little reading, some pinterest time, ahh, it would be great. I brought my cup of coffee up to my room and started the shower. Just as I was about to get in the shower, Mini-ion #1 showed up in my room. A half hour earlier than he usually wakes up. But, I still got a shower in, some early coffee and it wasn’t too bad of a start.

The next morning I again dreamed of the “me time” I would have, because surely it was just an anomaly. Nope, as I came upstairs from the treadmill, Mini-ion #1 was yelling for me. I dashed upstairs to prevent him from waking Mini-ion #2.

The third morning, Mini-ion #1 was up before 6. I gave up. Instead of getting “me time” I was just getting more “Mini-ion #1” time.

I think it’s because he knows we’re leaving him with my parents to go on a second honeymoon in celebration of our anniversary. I’m hoping. And once we go and come back, he’ll be back to sleeping until 7. I’ll try for “me time” again when we get back. In the meantime, I’ll hug and cuddle him when he wakes at 6:30, hoping he’ll go back to sleep, knowing in the future, I’ll have more “me time” than I’ll ever want.

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Each time I tried shooting blindfolded I found it an aimless pursuit.

  1. geanieroake says:

    So true, there will come a day when you have lots of me time, but the minions will be grown up and gone. I’m almost there, and while you can still talk to them on the phone, it’s not the same as bear hugs and chocolate kisses.

Leave a Reply

