Organ donors put their heart into it.

We’re moving on to our next great adventure – Oktoberfest!!

In 2007, dear husband and I took a trip to Europe, starting in Prague, heading to Munich and ending up in Zurich.  While we were in Munich, we met up with the foreign exchange student who lived with us while I was in junior high school.  He took us to Oktoberfest in Munich which was a fantastic experience.

We’re doing the best we can to bring some of the experiences back.  The first thing I’m working on is the lebkuchen hearts (gingerbread hearts).  These hearts are sold from vendors all throughout the festival grounds with different german expressions on them like, I love you” (Ich liebe Dich), “You’re my sweetheart” (Du bist mein sußes Herzchen) and “I think only of you” (Ich denke nur noch an Dich).  When my sister-in-law and brother-in-law went, they came back with a story of him buying her a heart that said something like, you have big hips, but that is unconfirmed.

IMG_3523[1]So far, all I’ve done is bake them, and that was an experience all on its own.  I’m following the recipe I found here. Unfortunately, the largest heart shape cutter I was able to find was only 4”, so after doubling the recipe I’m ending up with 25 hearts (it would have been 26, but mini-ion #2 couldn’t help but stick her fingers into the last heart, so we used that one to taste, and the taste was good!).  I used a straw to poke a hole in before baking, then used the other side of the straw to reinforce the hole after it came out of the oven.

They look good, they taste good; they can only get better with the decorating!  I’ll be sure to show that off after they get done.

This entry was posted in food, party planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Organ donors put their heart into it.

  1. Pingback: I decide which beer to drink on a case by case basis | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

