The produce grocer keeps his eyes peeled for potatoes every week at the farmers market.

One of the benefits of the area we live in is the amount of nearby farms.  In my town alone there are two farms, at least.  There is a farmer’s market within 30 minutes of my house EVERY SINGLE DAY.  There is every opportunity to get fresh, organic food.

One of the things I wanted to do this summer was make food for the family based on my pick-up at a farmer’s market.  In my head, I visualized making a whole meal around the finds at a farmer’s market, but that’s just not realistic based on my family’s palate and my amateurish cooking skills.  But I was able to come away with some deliciousness and Act #30 of Summer Awesomeness!

I grabbed 2 pints of perfectly ripe blueberries and a container of artichoke salad.  The artichoke salad was delicious with some steaks we had marinated.  And the blueberries, oh the blueberries, were made for blueberry ice cream.

The recipe I used was here.   I heated up four cups of blueberries with 2 tablespoons of water.  I followed the comments and just added one cup of sugar, tasted it and discovered it didn’t need any more sugar.  I also added a teaspoon of vanilla.

IMG_3352[1]After it had cooled, I strained it, mixed it with 4 cups of half and half and let it sit in the fridge.  We were too anxious and only let it sit for 6 hours.  I mixed it up with my ice cream machine – I have a KitchenAid Mixer with an Ice Cream Maker Attachment to make the ice cream.  I then put it in the freezer.  I tried to eat it after 2 hours in the freezer, but it wasn’t frozen yet, but it was ridiculously delicious.

Finally the next day it was ready.  It was worth the wait.

This entry was posted in 100 acts of summer awesomeness, food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The produce grocer keeps his eyes peeled for potatoes every week at the farmers market.

  1. Pingback: I needed a raise in my allowance. Mowing the grass all summer just wasn’t cutting it. | crumbsoffthetable

  2. Pingback: I was going to have my hernia operation last June, but the surgeon was on summer hiatus | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

