Her ability to always find fresh vegetables on sale was uncanny.

My good friend, the former preschool teacher, has ridiculed me to no end that I haven’t let my kids have popsicles yet. But, it has just been one of those really messy kid things that I’ve been holding off on doing.

Well no more! I put my big girl panties on and got to work! First, I bought these popsicle holders on amazon: GRAZIA® – Set of 4 Premium Silicone Popsicle Molds

IMG_3267[1]And then the Acts of Summer Awesomeness started!

#35 – Raspberry Grape popsicles! Simple! Just processed a pint of raspberries with about a lb of seedless purple grapes (I tasted it and added grapes until it was just the right amount of tartness), strained it and used the juice and a spoonful of pulp to make the popsicles. Big hit!
IMG_3355[1]#34 – Grape Spinach popsicles! I know – that sounds hideous, right? But if I can give them yummy popsicles while still getting a superfood in it, I call it genious. Same process – about a lb of seedless purple grapes, two large handfuls of spinach, steamed and chopped. Ran it through the food processor. Added a couple of drops of red food coloring (so it didn’t look so green). Strained it; used the juice and spoonful of pulp to make the popsicles. And they still enjoyed it!

And not too much mess. Plus, they were either naked or in dark colors. The benefit of summer is that messy play can be naked play! Who knows what we’ll do this winter.

This entry was posted in 100 acts of summer awesomeness, food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Her ability to always find fresh vegetables on sale was uncanny.

  1. Pingback: I needed a raise in my allowance. Mowing the grass all summer just wasn’t cutting it. | crumbsoffthetable

  2. Pingback: I was going to have my hernia operation last June, but the surgeon was on summer hiatus | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

