A two-year-old with a ghetto blaster is a baby boomer

One more aspect of the awesome girls’ weekend that I’ve posted about here and here, was the surprise Sprinkle thrown into the middle of it.

 

Typically, we like to have a “something” to do.  In years past, I would have bought or written a murder mystery game.  All the ladies would have brought a ton of unnecessary stuff to try to fit the character I would delegate to them.  Many inventive costume accessories have been created on the fly, including cutting one of my dear husband’s undershirts to use as a lab coat, a mixing bowl on the head, aluminum foil fingernails.  Oh…wait, those were all done by the same person…..and now you begin to understand the creative genius that is my friend Audrey.

 

As soon as I knew my friend Audrey would be coming to this year’s girls’ weekend, I knew I needed to surprise her with a Sprinkle.  First, because she’s one of those “really great people” that you only encounter a few of in your life.  Second, because she very sweetly planned a fantastic Sprinkle for me when I was pregnant with Mini-ion #2.  Third, because it would be a super fun activity to have in the middle of girls’ weekend.

 

But planning a surprise Sprinkle in the middle of the weekend for someone as creative as Audrey requires an extra level of “HA!”.  Knowing that she is pregnant with a boy made the theme easier – Mustache!

 

Secretly, after lunch, I passed out a mustache to everyone.  As Audrey went in to the other room to check on the kids, we all put on our mustaches.  I pulled out the banner that I made (Happy Sprinkle) and we waited anxiously for her to walk back in to the kitchen.  And waited.  And waited.  And seriously?  “Audrey?  Can you come here please?”.

 

In she walks to nine of us, staring at her with big bushy mustaches over our cheesy grins.  Gotcha!!

 

Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of our silliness.  To create the banner, I used a stencil on index cards, punched holes in the cards and strung them with white string.  Stencils are a super easy way to create banners for anything!

IMG_2900[1]

 

And no celebration of pregnancy is complete until there is cake.  That’s right, Mustache cake!  It looks amazing, right?  I found instructions on how to put it together here.

Cake baked in a large round spring form pan (and just far enough away from Mini-ion #2)

Cake baked in a large round spring form pan (and just far enough away from Mini-ion #2)

 

Cut the circle into a ying-yang shape.

Cut the circle into a ying-yang shape.

Place it next to each other, over pieces of waxed paper.  I secured it with two toothpicks.

Place it next to each other, over pieces of waxed paper. I secured it with two toothpicks.

And frost!  Audrey was expected momentarily, otherwise I probably would have added some color shading for more interest.

And frost! Audrey was expected momentarily, otherwise I probably would have added some color shading for more interest.

And Audrey, our best wishes for a healthy pregnancy and delivery, YSB!

This entry was posted in crafting, food, girlfriends, party planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A two-year-old with a ghetto blaster is a baby boomer

  1. Pingback: Flying these days is a frisky business. | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

