Sitting in the sun this summer caused a lot of people to become well-red.

Within my mom’s group, there has been a lot of talk of “100 Activities of Summer”.  I’ve decided to jump on board.  Before Memorial Day, I’d like to do 100 acts of summer awesomeness with Mini-ion 1 & 2.  I’m not sure how far I’ll get, but I’ve done pretty well the past two days.  But first let me plug how I’ve been able to do the last two for free.

Shortly after we moved to our current house (a little over a year ago), I gave birth to Mini-ion 2.  We had looked to find friends in our old area, but for whatever reason, it didn’t seem to click.  For the first couple of months in our current area, I was focused on managing the adjustment of having two.  Eventually my intelligent husband said to me that Mini-ion 1 needed a chance to hang out with kids more.  I looked up through meetup.com for stay-at-home moms groups in my area and came across http://www.momsclub.org

I was really happy to find one in my area and we are doing so much with them it has been a real joy.  I hope that any stay-at-home parent reaches out and takes the plunge to join one.  Our group has organized so many activities for this summer I think I’ll easily be able to fill 100 acts of summer awesomeness.  And find more ways to be too busy to get the crumbs off the table.

Yesterday’s act of summer awesomeness was swimming in a lake.  It was beautiful, a private entrance to a town lake.  It was a roped off area that helped the mini-ions feel like it was less threatening.  Mini-ion 1 felt so comfortable that he waded in up to his chest, a new thing for him and I couldn’t have been more proud.  Mini-ion 2 loves to get in the water, but typically falls in face first.  She’s so happy in the water, that it doesn’t faze her when she gets dunked in. 

It was a beautiful experience, courtesy of one of the MOMs group members.  I hope we get the chance to do it again.

And I did have time to get the crumbs off the table yesterday. 

This entry was posted in 100 acts of summer awesomeness, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sitting in the sun this summer caused a lot of people to become well-red.

  1. Pingback: The local baker was paying his staff based on a flourly rate. | crumbsoffthetable

  2. Pingback: On organic farms they till it like it is. | crumbsoffthetable

  3. Pingback: When kissing flowers, tulips are better than one. | crumbsoffthetable

  4. Pingback: I needed a raise in my allowance. Mowing the grass all summer just wasn’t cutting it. | crumbsoffthetable

  5. Pingback: I was going to have my hernia operation last June, but the surgeon was on summer hiatus | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

