A gardener who moved back to her hometown rediscovered her roots

My parents had a tremendous garden when I was a child.  It was amazing to me the size of it with corn, tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and sunflowers (among many other things).  It was hard work, bountiful and it turns out inspiring.

my sister and I in the garden

my sister and I in the garden

My family and I moved to our current house a little over a year ago.  One of the benefits to it (besides the extra space) was an area already fenced, built up and perfectly set up for a garden.  And this year I’ve started gardening.  I guess it is one more step of being an adult; giving to my kids the positive experiences I had as a child.

I’ve tried to include the mini-ions in it, but they might still be a little too little for it.  Mini-ion 2 just wants to eat the dirt and pull the plants out (she hasn’t quite differentiated between a purposeful plant and a weed).  Mini-ion 1 loves the idea of going out and helping me, but generally by the time we’ve gathered the tools and walked out there, he is already distracted by hitting off all the leaves off the tree branches with a stick.  I think if I could grow chicken nuggets, Mini-ion 1 would help me continuously.  I think a chicken nugget plant would be very GMO though.

My dad, my gardening inspiration, told me this weekend that you get out of your garden what you put into it. That made me realize how much gardening is like parenting.  You set up what you hope is a safe healthy environment and there you plant your little ones, be it seeds, seedlings or fledgling plants.  You watch over them and try to protect them from disease or predators.  And you get back what you put into your children.  I hope to give them love, confidence and hope and watch them grow and spread it.

In the meantime, I’m trying to keep them from eating dirt so they aren’t growing pumpkins in their bellies.

This entry was posted in gardening, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A gardener who moved back to her hometown rediscovered her roots

  1. Pingback: Corn is so versatile that it is an a-maize-ing grain. | crumbsoffthetable

  2. Pingback: Beginning gardeners work by trowel and error | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

