Hello.

“But, what would I say?” I asked my sister skeptically.  She went into a litany of ideas which I instantly dismissed.

“Who would want to read a blog I wrote?” I continued.  And she effectively said, if you write it, they will come.

I scoffed at the idea of writing a blog, thinking back over all the interesting and inspiring blogs I have stumbled across.  I attributed my sister’s idea to an elder sibling’s over-inflated sense of pride in her younger sister.  I also considered that she just wants to talk to me less (Its ok, Kerri, I read all about it in your blog.  Now let me talk to your children).

But then, a title came to me.  Crumbs off the table.

My husband loves me.  Tremendously.  And despite that I have walked away from the career woman that he married (and thought I would always be), he’s supported me in the decision  to be a stay at home mom to our two delightful mini-ions.  He appreciates all the ways I improve our life, from the homemade food, to the delightful touches to our parties, to the creative ways I stretch our budget.  But, to improve on some things, other things must suffer.  And in my case, what suffers is cleaning.  While I may gripe and moan about how I don’t have time to do it, we both know that if I spent a little less time on the things I find fun, I’d spend a little more time getting the crumbs off the table.

Here it is my 35th birthday, and the present I give myself is an excuse to spend a little more time on the things I find so fun that I don’t have time to get the crumbs off the table.  Let’s see how it goes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello.

  1. preachteach says:

    My motto is I am a stay at home MOM, not a stay at home MAID! We’ll have plenty of time to clean the table when we’re old and gray!

  2. geanieroake says:

    Where do you get your post titles? I look forward to your posts just to see what you’ll come up with next.

  3. whatsasssays says:

    Love your title and reason for using it! I look forward to hearing more from you 🙂
    Sass x

Leave a Reply

